Steeped in history
Located right in the heart of Sunbury are five bora rings; prehistoric Aboriginal ceremonial sites, which one archaeologist has estimated may be over 1,000 years old.
Click to view Jacksons Hill's masterplan
The area’s more recent history began in 1836, when George Evans and William Jackson first settled Sunbury. However it was William and his brother Samuel who named the town after Sunbury-on-Thames when it was established in 1857; they also named Jacksons Hill and Jacksons Creek.
Sunbury’s rich history is still on view; from the heritage-listed viaduct and stonewall, and the beautifully restored bluestone buildings to Rupertswood, the stately mansion and estate, which was the birthplace of The Ashes urn.